Wednesday, 15 November 2017

Tournament report from Donegal, Ireland

"Donegal Subbuteo" had a four player tournament on Friday evening. Cormac played for the first time in 2 years. He first played back in December 2011 as a 10 year old! Anyway there was some great games between Brian, Cormac and Caoimhe. They haven't played a lot lately so there was plenty of goals and action in every game. We played a group format with players playing each other once. Brendan used Heavyweight bases and the other 3 used the more modern bases. The idea of this was to make the tournament more equal for everyone. And as you can see from the final table, Brendan just pipped Caoimhe on goal difference! But great to see the younger ones having so much fun and determination to beat each other in this great game we all love.

Here is the final table:
Brendan Rodgers...3...7...+4
Caoimhe Rodgers...3...7...+2
Cormac Coyle...3...1...-3
Brian McCorkell...3...1...-3

Tuesday, 14 November 2017

Kye Arnold wins in Kent

Kye and Dave
Report and results of Friday’s WASPA night at Kent. It was the England U19 players of Kye & Finn who led the way in the Friday night WASPA games last week. In a 6 man field, a number of close games were had  with 5 competitive rounds of play.

Paul and Rob
Kye eventually ran out winner, unbeaten on the night, whilst Finn grabbed the runner-up spot after a final round 2-0 victory over Terry. Table:-

Kye Arnold – 13pts +9
Finn Taylor – 10pts +3
Terry Arnold – 7pts -2
Dave Collier – 4pts -1
Paul Frank – 4pts -4
Rob McCormick – 2pts -5

Kenneth Beggs wins annivesary cup

On Monday night Derry City TFC held the 1st anniversary Cup. It’s been a great year and the club and competition has gone from strength to strength. The night saw a good turnout of ten players vie for the Cup. Kenny ‘The legend’ Beggs made an appearance and didn’t disappoint with a fantastic display of skill. Viewers tuned in for the live feed from all over the world - Wales, Italy, Greece and Strabane! The groups were closely fought affairs but Kenny proved too tough an opponent for all. Mark ‘The Moth’ McCrossan suffered defeat at the hands of Martinog Bradley in the semi, but it was Beggs, the legend himself, who sailed on to victory with a clear 4-0 victory over Bradley in the final. Brendan Rodgers took the 3rd place honours beating The Moth 1-0 in the 3rd and 4th play offs. A great night and a fitting Anniversary for the Derry City Table Football Club!

Promotional tournament in North Wales

London Road Subbuteo Club held the November "Sychdyn Cup", six players played in a league format with Brian Daley finishing first and Richard Stock coming runner up. Thirteen year old Yani Kelly came third, Cayne Matthews fourth, eight year old Ruby Matthews came fifth and beat her dad 1-0 today, with Dave Merrilees-Kelly sixth. The tournament was a WASPA promotional tournament, which means Brian and Richard will not get ranking points (because they are in the top 25 already). "Having them at the promo is good practise for the rest of us", reported Cayne Matthews.
The next event in North Wales will be held on November 26 at "the Parrot" in Drury. "We should be 10+ and today one of Ruby school friends came for a practise game with Ruby. Just looking to slowly grow as a club and attract new players to the game and bring back players that have stopped", also commented Cayne.

Brian 15pts
Rich 12
Yani 6 (WASPA champion)
Cayne 6
Ruby 4
Dave 1

Results Yani 3v0 Ruby Rich 5v0 Cayne Brian 4v0 Dave Cayne 2v1 Yani Dave 0v0 Ruby Brian 3v2 Rich Yani 4v1 Dave Cayne 0v4 Brian Ruby 0v4 Rich Brian 5v1 Yani Rich 3v0 Dave Ruby 1v0 Cayne Yani 1v3 Rich Brian 1v0 Ruby Dave 0v1 Cayne

Monday, 30 October 2017

Brian Daley wins in North Wales

London Road Subbuteo Club held "The Parrot Cup" in Drury this Sunday, October 29. it was a great day of play with 11 players taking part. It was geat to see new and returning faces in attendance. League groups of 6 and 5 were played with top two going into semi's and third place play for the plate. There were some great games and it was good to see Ruby (age 8) and Ollie (age 9) playing each other. Cayne Matthews beat Yani Kelly 2-0 in the plate final in a close game. Martin Blanchard beat Tom Burns 3-1 and Brian Daley beat Richard Stock 3-1 in the semi-finals. The final with Brian and Martin finished 0-0 with Brian winning with a golden goal in extr-time. Huge thanks to Cayne Matthews for keeping thing running. Well done for the great job!

Wednesday, 25 October 2017

Frightening Flicks Halloween WASPA

Mark ‘The Moth’ McCrossan’s reign of terror at DCTFC was brought to an end tonight by Brendan ‘The Donegal Demon’ Rodgers in our Frightening Flicks Halloween WASPA tournament.

After felling the Bearded Bradley in the semi-final and Following a tense scoreless draw, Rodgers took the win 2-1 on shots. A fantastic turn out for the club saw 11 players competing. 2 new players have now joined the ranks and we had the welcome return of Paul Boyle.

Our next tournament will be our 1 year anniversary Cup and we look forward to an even bigger turnout then.

Brendan Rodgers - Martinog Bradley 3-2
Mark Mc Crossan - Lawrence Watson 2-0

Brendan Rodgers - Mark Mc Crossan 2-1

(Report by Martinog Bradley)

Tuesday, 24 October 2017

Dave Brothers triumphs in Ponteland

all the competitors
Report by Stephen Dobbison
1st semi final Stephen Dobbison v Chris Kaberry The vastly experienced player took on the newcomer in what turned out to be a tight game which finished 1-0 to Chris. The game was mainly one way traffic with Chris having a number of shots which were either blocked or saved. The break through came midway through the second half with a low shot. Stephen was unable to muster a reply and Chris was the deserved winner and progressed to the final. Score 1-0 to Chris.

2nd semi final Dave Brothers v Andy Mill The rivals were drawn against each other once again in a Ponteland semi final. The game was well match but ultimately finished goalless. Shots took place where the goalkeepers we’re dominant with the first 12 shots saved. Dave then took the lead leaving Andy under pressure in sudden death. He kept his nerve to fire in taking the tie even further. Next shot Dave scored, however, this time Andy was unable to reply leaving Dave to progress to the final 2-1 in the shootout after a 0-0 draw.

3/4 place play off Stephen Dobbison v Andy Mill. A tight first half and at the break the score was still 0-0. Just after the break Andy scored with a low shot. Stephen responded by throwing a number of players forward and got his reward with a looping chip. Both players then went for the win attacking in numbers but it was Andy who got the vital second and then a third. The game finished 3-1 in Andy’s favour.
Andy presents Dave with his trophy
Final Chris Kaberry v Dave Brothers Another fine match with both players having large spells of possession. Dave managed to make his possession count and a quick one two saw him take an early lead which was ultimately to see him become the victor. Chris responded with numerous shots and a lot of late possession but Dave held his nerve and ran out a fine and deserve winner. Final score 1-0 to Dave.

1. Dave Brothers
2. Chris Kaberry
3. Andy Mill
4. Stephen Dobbison.

Tournament report from Donegal, Ireland

"Donegal Subbuteo" had a four player tournament on Friday evening. Cormac played for the first time in 2 years. He first played ...